April 2017

Alum SreyRam Kuy (Yale CSP 07-09 VA Scholar) is the Random Acts: Caught in the Act 2016 public vote winner. 

March 2017

Alum Risa Lavizzo-Mourey (Penn CSP 83-86) has been named the University of Pennsylvania's 19th Penn Integrates Knowledge University Professor, effective January 1, 2018. 

February 2017

Alum Marcella Nunez-Smith (Yale CSP 04-06) received the prestigious 2017 national Herbert W. Nickens Award from the Society of General Internal Medicine. The award honors an individual who has demonstrated exceptional commitment to cultural diversity in medicine or to improving minority health. 

January 2017

Alum SreyRam Kuy (Yale CSP 07-09 VA Scholar) was selected as a 2017 Presidential Leadership Scholar

Alum Sean Lucan (Penn CSP 07-09) was selected by the National Academy of Medicine as 2016 James C. Puffer, MD/American Board of Family Medicine Fellow

November 2016

Alumni Nirav Shah (UCLA CSP 01-03 VA Scholar) and Glenda Wrenn (Penn CSP 08-11) were appointed to the Advisory Committee on National Health Promotion and Disease Prevention Objectives for 2030.

October 2016

Alum Sean Lucan (Penn CSP 07-09) was named a 2016 NAM Fellow

Alum Robert Dittus (UNC CSP 82-84) is the 2016 Herman A. Tyroler Distinguished Alumni Award recipient. This award recognizes contributions and accomplishments of graduates of the UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health's epidemiology department. 

Alum Marcella Nunez-Smith (Yale CSP 04-06) and colleagues were awarded nearly $10 million from the National Institute on Health/National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities to establish the Yale Transdisciplinary Collaborative Center for Health Disparities Research focused on Precision Medicine.  

September 2016

Lawrence Green, MPH, DrPH, DSc (Hon.), professor (retired) at the School of Medicine, University of California at San Francisco, receives the Sedgwick Memorial Medal for Distinguished Service in Public Health for devoting his career to the bridging of theory and research to planning, implementation and evaluation of programs and policies in public health.

Alumna Anita Ravi (Penn CSP VA 14-16) is the recipient of the 2016 Emerging Leader Awardfrom the Family Medicine Education Consortium. This award is given to promising Family Medicine senior residents, junior faculty, and clinicians with three years or less experience who have demonstrated the potential to be future leaders in Family Medicine. 

July 2016

Current scholar Nia Heard-Garris (Michigan CSP) receives the Trong D. Nguyen Memorial Award for public health leadership. 

Alum Megumi Okumura (Michigan CSP 04-06) and colleagues receive PCORI Engagement Award for UCSF Child Health Equity Collaborative project, Discovery and Collaboration with Youth and Families in Research (DCYFR).

Alum Hemal Kanzaria (UCLA CSP VA 12-14) received the 2016 Hellman Family Award for Early Career Faculty to study frequent users of acute medical, mental health, and social services in San Francisco.

June 2016

Current scholar Carolyn Presley (Yale CSP VA) receives Yale Oncology Fellow Research Award.

Alum Stephen Patrick (Michigan CSP 10-12) was awarded the Early Career Physician Award by the Tennessee Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics.

Alum Katherine Auger (Michigan CSP 11-13) is the recipient of the 2016 Nemours Child Health Services Research Award.This award is given by AcademyHealth’s Child Health Services Research Interest Group and Nemours in recognition of outstanding contributions to child health services research. 

May 2016

Alum Heather Yeo (Yale CSP 06-08) is the recipient of the 2016 Damon Runyon Clinical Investigator Award. The Clinical Investigator Award program is specifically intended to provide outstanding young physicians with the resources and training structure essential to becoming successful clinical investigators. Congratulations, Heather!

Rod Hayward (UCLA CSP Alum and Michigan CSP Director) is the recipient of The Roger J. Grekin Research Award. It is the VAAAHS Research Service's highest honor for achievement in leadership in research, education and clinical care. Congratulations!

Alum Ilse Wiechers (Yale CSP VA 12-14) received the Hartford-Jeste Award for Future Leaders in Geriatric Psychiatry from the American Psychiatric Association.

Alumna Lisa Rubenstein (UCLA CSP 79-81) was awarded the 2016 John Eisenberg National Award for Career Achievement in Research from the Society of General Internal Medicine.

Alum Ryan Greysen (Yale CSP VA 09-11) was awarded the Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year from the Society of General Internal Medicine and Outstanding Junior Investigator of the Year from the American Geriatrics Society.

Current scholar, Brian Jenssen (Penn CSP) is a winner in the 2016 AppITUP Challenge for ProNoto, a platform for professional learning using peer-sourced content and, for physicians, earning, tracking, and recording continuing medication education (CME) credits. Congrats!